Official nameRepublic of Zimbabwe
Name in local languageRepublic of Zimbabwe (en)
SubcontinentSouthern Africa
Population (ranking: 74e)14,025,965 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.60 % / year
Area390,757 km²
Density35.89 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 103e)31.001 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)2,147 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.20 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)58.00 years (2016)
Birth rate34.20 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate3.98 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)10.20 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)25.90 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate90.43 % (2014)
Official languagesEnglish (Shona and Sindebele spoken)
CurrencyUnited States Dollar ($ USD)
HDI (ranking: 189e)0.563 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)43.41 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party presidential republic (de jure) ; Military coup under a presidential republic (de facto)
Head of StatePresident Emmerson Mnangagwa
National Day18 April (independence of 1980, declared 11 November 1965)
Tourists (ranking)2,423,000 people (2017)
Zimbabwé – petite
Violence and extreme poverty for daily lot

Zimbabwe is a landlocked southern African country (without access to the sea) surrounded by South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique and Zambia. Zambezi, flowing from west to east, from the famous Victoria Falls in the west to Mozambique in the east. These falls, known worldwide, represent the main tourist attraction of the country.

Chutes Victoria, Zimbabwé
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Hararé, capitale du Zimbabwé
Harare, capital city of Zimbabwe
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Hararé3,465,389 inhabitants
Bulawayo1,200,337 inhabitants
Mutare291,943 inhabitants
Gweru179,884 inhabitants
Kwekwe155,914 inhabitants
Kadoma113,469 inhabitants
Masvingo105,572 inhabitants
Victoria Falls39,614 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Bulawayo (Ville)1,200,337 inhabitants479 km²
Hararé (Ville)2,123,132 inhabitants872 km²
Manicaland1,752,698 inhabitants36,459 km²
Mashonaland Central1,152,520 inhabitants28,347 km²
Mashonaland Occidental1,501,656 inhabitants57,441 km²
Mashonaland Oriental1,344,955 inhabitants32,230 km²
Masvingo1,485,090 inhabitants56,566 km²
Matabeleland Méridional683,893 inhabitants54,172 km²
Matabeleland Septentrional749,017 inhabitants75,025 km²
Midlands1,614,941 inhabitants49,166 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also