Official nameRepublic of Cuba
Name in local languageRepública de Cuba (es)
Population (ranking: 85e)11,280,651 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.32 % / year
Area109,884 km²
Density102.66 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 67e)96.851 billions $USD (2017)
GDP/capita (ranking)8,541 $USD (2017)
GDP growth1.80 % / year (2017)
Life expectancy (ranking)78.70 years (2018)
Birth rate10.40 ‰ (2018)
Fertility rate1.65 children / woman (2018)
Death rate (ranking)9.50 ‰ (2018)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)4.00 ‰ (2018)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2020)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyPeso (CUP) ; Convertible peso (CUC)
HDI (ranking: 102e)0.778 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)63.42 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary Marxist–Leninist one-party socialist republic
Head of StatePresident Miguel Díaz-Canel
National Day10 December (independence of 1898)
Tourists (ranking)4,275,558 people (2019)
Cuba – petite

Cuba is a Caribbean island state consisting of the island of Cuba (the largest island in the West Indies), the Isle of Youth (known as Isle of Pines until 1976) and about 1600 other small islands. It is located north of the West Indies at the confluence of the Caribbean Sea, the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean; south of the United States and the Bahamas and east of Mexico. Cuba is the second most populous island in the Caribbean.

Che Guevara (gauche) et Fidel Castro en 1961
Che Guevara (left) and Fidel Castro in 1961. Photo: Alberto Korda/Museum Che Guevara
La Havane, Cuba
Havana, old town, by night, Cuba. Photo: Gabriel Rodríguez

See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Havana2,130,081 inhabitants
Santiago de Cuba510,563 inhabitants
Holguín350,987 inhabitants
Camagüey326,743 inhabitants
Santa Clara243,416 inhabitants
Bayamo237,789 inhabitants
Guantánamo229,550 inhabitants
Las Tunas206,096 inhabitants
Pinar del Rio190,931 inhabitants
Cienfuegos174,478 inhabitants
Matanzas154,857 inhabitants
Ciego de Ávila151,010 inhabitants
Cárdenas147,419 inhabitants
Sancti Spíritus140,648 inhabitants
Manzanillo130,793 inhabitants
Palma Soriano125,412 inhabitants
Contramaestre106,469 inhabitants
Mayarí101,465 inhabitants
Varadero26,995 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Artemisa506,203 inhabitants4,003 km²
Camagüey772,210 inhabitants15,386 km²
Ciego de Ávila434,914 inhabitants6,972 km²
Cienfuegos407,695 inhabitants4,189 km²
Granma831,223 inhabitants8,374 km²
Guantánamo512,964 inhabitants6,168 km²
Havana (La Habana)2,130,081 inhabitants728 km²
Holguín1,034,331 inhabitants9,216 km²
Island of Youth (Isla de la Juventud)84,532 inhabitants2,419 km²
Las Tunas537,221 inhabitants6,593 km²
Matanzas709,707 inhabitants11,792 km²
Mayabeque381,689 inhabitants3,744 km²
Pinar del Río588,272 inhabitants8,884 km²
Sancti Spíritus466,359 inhabitants6,777 km²
Santiago de Cuba1,053,966 inhabitants6,228 km²
Villa Clara787,857 inhabitants8,412 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also