Official nameKingdom of Bhutan
Name in local languageDruk Yul - འབྲུག་རྒྱལ་ཁབ་ (dz)
SubcontinentSouth Asia
Population (ranking: 143e)2,788,599 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.52 % / year
Area38,394 km²
Density72.63 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 185e)2.535 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)3,360 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)71.50 years (2018)
Birth rate17.50 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.93 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)6.60 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)33.90 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate71.40 % (2017)
Official languagesDzongkha
CurrencyNgultrum (BTN)
HDI (ranking: 172e)0.617 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)47.22 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
National Day17 December (House of Wangchuck in 1907)
Tourists (ranking)255,000 people (2017)
Bhoutan – petite

Bhutan is a Southeast Asian country without access to the sea. It is located in the eastern Himalayas, landlocked between India to the south, east and west, and China (Tibet Autonomous Region) to the north. Further west, it is separated from Nepal by the Indian state of Sikkim, and further south it is separated from Bangladesh by the Indian states of Assam and West Bengal. Its capital and largest city is Thimphu.

Vallée, Bhoutan
Valley, Bhutan
Thimphou, capitale du Bhoutan
Thimphu, capitale of Bhutan. Photo: Gyzuh
Taktshang, monastère au Bhoutan
Taktshang, monastery in Bhutan

Attention: the figures of administrative divisions are those “official”, so without the inhabitants of Nepalese origin, the latter not being officially counted.

See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Thimphou138,720 inhabitants
Phuntsholing125,985 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Districts (Dzongkhag)PopulationArea
Bumthang18,965 inhabitants2,668 km²
Chukha88,342 inhabitants1,879 km²
Dagana27,522 inhabitants1,723 km²
Gasa3,694 inhabitants3,075 km²
Haa13,499 inhabitants1,865 km²
Lhuntse17,618 inhabitants2,809 km²
Mongar44,259 inhabitants1,945 km²
Paro43,167 inhabitants1,251 km²
Pemagatshel28,442 inhabitants1,022 km²
Punakha27,838 inhabitants1,110 km²
Samdrup Jongkhar41,514 inhabitants1,878 km²
Samtse70,618 inhabitants1,305 km²
Sarpang45,637 inhabitants1,666 km²
Thimphou116,012 inhabitants1,749 km²
Trashigang56,168 inhabitants2,204 km²
Trashiyangtse20,874 inhabitants1,449 km²
Trongsa16,012 inhabitants1,822 km²
Tsirang21,816 inhabitants638 km²
Wangdue Phodrang37,552 inhabitants3,920 km²
Zhemgang21,501 inhabitants2,416 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also