Official nameFederal Democratic Republic of Nepal
Name in local languageसंघीय लोकतान्त्रिक गणतन्त्रात्मक नेपाल ; Sanghiya Loktantrik Ganatantratmak Nepāl (ne)
SubcontinentSouth Asia
Population (ranking: 50e)29,704,501 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.41 % / year
Area147,181 km²
Density201.82 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 105e)28.812 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,026 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)70.50 years (2018)
Birth rate19.90 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.18 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)5.70 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)28.90 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate89.95 % (2015)
Official languagesNepali
CurrencyNepalese rupee (NPR)
HDI (ranking: 185e)0.579 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)31.44 (2018)
GovernmentFederal parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Bidhya Devi Bhandari
National Day19 February (Revolution of 1951)
Tourists (ranking)1,173,072 people (2018)
Népal – petite
A country in reconstruction

Nepal is a country located in south Asia, in the Himalayas, with no access to the sea, bordered on the north by China (Tibet Autonomous Region), south, west and east by India.

Mount Everest. Source: Wildlife Archives

Katmandou, capitale du Népal
Katmandou, capital city of Nepal. Photo: Helminadia Ranford
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Katmandou3,414,996 inhabitants
Pokhara414,141 inhabitants
Bhâratpur280,502 inhabitants
Butwal241,411 inhabitants
Biratnagar214,663 inhabitants
Birganj207,980 inhabitants
Janakpur169,287 inhabitants
Ghorahi156,242 inhabitants
Hetauda153,875 inhabitants
Nepalganj147,700 inhabitants
Itahari142,885 inhabitants
Dharan141,439 inhabitants
Dhangadhi139,743 inhabitants
Bhimdatta106,666 inhabitants
Birendranagar97,941 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Bagmati5,529,452 inhabitants20,300 km²
Far West2,552,517 inhabitants19,539 km²
Gandaki2,413,907 inhabitants21,504 km²
Janakpur5,404,145 inhabitants9,661 km²
Karnali1,168,515 inhabitants27,984 km²
Koshi4,534,943 inhabitants25,905 km²
Lumbini4,891,025 inhabitants22,288 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also