Belarus (Byelorussia)

Official nameRepublic of Belarus
Name in local languageРэспубліка Беларусь (be) ; Республика Беларусь (ru)
SubcontinentEurope (outside the European Union)
Population (ranking: 95e)9,477,135 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.19 % / year
Area207,605 km²
Density45.65 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 79e)59.662 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)6,290 $USD (2018)
GDP growth3.00 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)72.60 years (2013)
Birth rate12.50 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate1.62 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)12.80 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.40 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate99.84 % (2015)
Official languagesBelarusian, Russian
CurrencyBelarusian ruble (BYN)
HDI (ranking: 77e)0.808 / 1 (2017)
EPI (ranking)64.98 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential republic (dictatorship in fact)
Head of StatePresident Alexander Lukashenko
National Day27 July (State Sovereignty Declaration of 1990)
Tourists (ranking)2,000,000 people (2017)
Biélorussie – petite

Byelorussia, also called Belarus (by the United Nations in particular), is a country of Eastern Europe, without access to the sea, bordered to the west by Poland, to the north by Latvia and Lithuania, to the east by Russia and south by Ukraine.

Minsk, capitale de la Biélorussie
Minsk, capitale of Belarus. Photo: Vadim Sazanovich
Place de l'indépendance, Minsk, Biélorussie
Place of the Independance, Minsk, Belarus. Photo: Zedlik
Lac Strusta, Biélorussie
Lake Strusta, Belarus. Photo: Zedlik
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Minsk1,974,800 inhabitants
Homiel (Gomel)521,452 inhabitants
Mahiliow (Moguilev)378,077 inhabitants
Vitsiebsk (Vitebsk)368,574 inhabitants
Hrodna (Grodna)365,610 inhabitants
Brest (Brest-Litovsk)340,141 inhabitants
Babrouïsk217,975 inhabitants
Baranavitchy179,122 inhabitants
Borisov (Baryssaw)143,919 inhabitants
Pinsk138,415 inhabitants
Orcha116,552 inhabitants
Mazyr112,003 inhabitants
Salihorsk106,503 inhabitants
Navapolatsk102,394 inhabitants
Lida100,443 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions (Voblasts)PopulationArea
Brest1,386,982 inhabitants32,786 km²
Homiel1,422,941 inhabitants40,370 km²
Hrodna1,050,125 inhabitants25,127 km²
Mahiliow1,067,645 inhabitants29,068 km²
Minsk (Ville)1,959,781 inhabitants349 km²
Minsk (Région)1,417,303 inhabitants39,854 km²
Vitebsk1,193,587 inhabitants40,051 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also