Official nameRepublic of Rwanda
Name in local languageRepubulika y'u Rwanda (rw) ; République du Rwanda (fr) ; Republic of Rwanda (en)
SubcontinentEast Africa
Population (ranking: 79e)12,089,721 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.37 % / year
Area26,338 km²
Density459.02 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 152e)9.509 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)773 $USD (2018)
GDP growth8.70 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)68.70 years (2018)
Birth rate31.89 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate4.20 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)7.05 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)32.00 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate85.03 % (2015)
Official languagesKinyarwanda, French, English
CurrencyRwandan franc (RWF)
HDI (ranking: 196e)0.536 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)43.68 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic (autoritarian)
Head of StatePresident Paul Kagame
National Day1st July (independence of 1962)
DemonymRwandan, Rwandese
Tourists (ranking)932,000 people (2016)
Rwanda – petite

Rwanda is a landlocked country located on the border between Central and East Africa. It is part of the Great Lakes region. Nicknamed the “country of a thousand hills”, it shares borders with Uganda to the north, Tanzania to the east, Burundi to the south, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. Its capital is Kigali.

Kigali, capitale du Rwanda
Kigali, capital of Rwanda. Photo: Arthur Buliva
Parc national des Volcans, Rwanda
Volcanoes National Park, Rwanda
Gorilles dans le Parc national des Volcans, Rwanda
Gorillas in the Volcanoes National Park, Rwanda
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Kigali1,431,911 inhabitants
Gisenyi191,931 inhabitants
Gitarama157,880 inhabitants
Ruhengeri130,989 inhabitants
Butare117,459 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Est2,595,703 inhabitants9,813 km²
Kigali (Ville)1,132,686 inhabitants730 km²
Nord1,726,370 inhabitants3,293 km²
Ouest2,471,239 inhabitants5,882 km²
Sud2,589,975 inhabitants5,963 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also