Official nameRepublic of Burundi
Name in local languageRepublika y'Uburundi (run) ; République du Burundi (fr)
SubcontinentEast Africa
Population (ranking: 79e)11,759,805 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.40 % / year
Area27,834 km²
Density422.50 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 185e)3.078 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)275 $USD (2018)
GDP growth1.60 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)61.20 years (2018)
Birth rate37.90 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate5.50 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)11.31 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)47.00 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate87.62 % (2015)
Official languagesFrench, Kirundi, English
CurrencyBurundian franc (BIF)
HDI (ranking: 223e)0.423 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)27.43 (2018)
GovernmentPresidential republic
Head of StatePresident Pierre Nkurunziza
National Day1st July (independence of 1962)
Tourists (ranking)187,000 people (2016)
Burundi – petite

Burundi is an East African country, without access to the sea, but with a large shoreline on Lake Tanganyika, located in the Great Lakes region and surrounded by the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west, the Rwanda to the north, and Tanzania to the east and south. Its capital and main urban area is Bujumbura.

Paysage du Burundi
Countryside of Burundi. Photo: Dave Proffer
Femmes et jeunes filles transportant de l'eau, Burundi
Women and girls carrying water, Burundi
Bujumbura, capitale du Burundi
Bujumbura, capitale of Burundi. Photo: Dave Proffer
Couché de soleil sur Bujumbura, Burundi
Sunset over Bujumbura, Burundi. Photo: Mutua Matheka
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Bujumbura1,192,554 inhabitants
Gitega192,157 inhabitants
Rumonge179,846 inhabitants
Muyinga171,358 inhabitants
Ngozi149,452 inhabitants
Nyanza-Lac139,777 inhabitants
Gisuru123,300 inhabitants
Kayanza120,562 inhabitants
Makamba115,982 inhabitants
Kirundo115,427 inhabitants
Kayogoro109,776 inhabitants
Muramvya100,733 inhabitants
Rugombo97,423 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Bubanza412,324 inhabitants1,089 km²
Bujumbura Mairie606,448 inhabitants87 km²
Bujumbura Rural678,132 inhabitants1,233 km²
Bururi339,358 inhabitants1,376 km²
Cankuzo279,182 inhabitants1,965 km²
Cibitoke561,643 inhabitants1,636 km²
Gitega884,634 inhabitants1,979 km²
Karuzi (Karusi)532,377 inhabitants1,457 km²
Kayanza714,091 inhabitants1,233 km²
Kirundo766,353 inhabitants1,703 km²
Makamba525,615 inhabitants1,960 km²
Muramvya356,903 inhabitants696 km²
Muyinga771,419 inhabitants1,836 km²
Mwaro333,182 inhabitants840 km²
Ngozi805,949 inhabitants1,474 km²
Rumonge381,548 inhabitants1,080 km²
Rutana406,819 inhabitants1,959 km²
Ruyigi488,570 inhabitants2,339 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also