North Korea

Official nameDemocratic People's Republic of Korea
Name in local language조선민주주의인민공화국 ; 朝鮮民主主義人民共和國 ; Chosŏn Minjujuŭi Inmin Konghwaguk (ko)
SubcontinentEast Asia
Population (ranking: 55e)25,617,841 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.49 % / year
Area123,138 km²
Density208.04 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 102e)34.311 billions $USD (2017)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,235 $USD (2017)
GDP growth-3.50 % / year (2017)
Life expectancy (ranking)70.11 years (2015)
Birth rate14.52 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate1.97 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)9.21 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)23.68 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesKorean
CurrencyNorth Korean won (₩ KPW)
HDI (ranking: 128e)0.733 / 1 (2008)
EPI (ranking)41.80 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary one-party Juche state Songun policy (de jure) under a totalitarian dictatorship (de facto)
Head of StateSupreme Leader Kim Jong-un
National Day15 April, 9 September, 10 October
DemonymNorth Korean
Tourists (ranking)6,000 people (2017)
Corée du Nord – petite
Folded on itself and constantly threatened by the United States, the country can not develop properly

North Korea is a state that covers the northern part of the Korean peninsula in East Asia. It is bordered by China and Russia to the north, and South Korea to the south.

Kim Jong-un dynastically succeeded his father Kim Jong-il. The latter, who died on December 17, 2011, left a country in a state of disrepair. Only the capital Pyongyang (and to a lesser extent the big cities) has benefited from substantial investments in infrastructures, and stands out in the urban landscape of the country by its modernity.

Pyongyang, Corée du Nord
Pyongyang, North Korea capital. Photo: John Pavelka
Hôtel Ryugyong, Pyongyang
Hotel Ryugyong (330 meters, 105 storey), Pyongyang. It is the tallest building in the country
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Pyongyang3,471,773 inhabitants
Hamhung699,102 inhabitants
Chongjin698,445 inhabitants
Wonsan606,521 inhabitants
Sunchon526,738 inhabitants
Nampho383,574 inhabitants
Sinŭiju375,759 inhabitants
Tanchon361,677 inhabitants
Kaechon334,154 inhabitants
Kaesong322,532 inhabitants
Sariwon321,825 inhabitants
Phyongsong297,379 inhabitants
Haeju285,786 inhabitants
Kanggye263,483 inhabitants
Anju251,087 inhabitants
Tokchon247,967 inhabitants
Kumya220,787 inhabitants
Kim Chaek216,770 inhabitants
Unsan215,837 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Hamgyong du Nord2,327,362 inhabitants15,980 km²
Hamgyong du Sud3,066,013 inhabitants18,534 km²
Hwanghae du Nord2,113,672 inhabitants8,154 km²
Hwanghae du Sud2,310,485 inhabitants8,450 km²
Jagang1,299,830 inhabitants16,613 km²
Kaesong (Région administrative spéciale)322,532 inhabitants66 km²
Kangwon1,477,582 inhabitants11,091 km²
Monts Kumgang (Kumgangsan) (Région administrative spéciale)0 inhabitants600 km²
Pyongan du Nord2,728,662 inhabitants12,191 km²
Pyongan du Sud4,051,696 inhabitants12,330 km²
Pyongyang (Ville sous statut administratif propre)3,471,773 inhabitants3,194 km²
Rasŏn (Ville sous statut administratif propre)205,953 inhabitants798 km²
Ryanggang719,269 inhabitants14,317 km²
Sinŭiju (Région administrative spéciale)375,759 inhabitants132 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also