South Korea

Official nameRepublic of Korea
Name in local language대한민국 ; 大韓民國 ; Daehan Minguk (ko)
SubcontinentEast Asia
Population (ranking: 27e)51,628,117 inhabitants (2022)
Population growth-0.15 % / year
Area100,356 km²
Density515.22 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 12e)1,637.896 billions $USD (2020)
GDP/capita (ranking)31,598 $USD (2020)
GDP growth-0.90 % / year (2020)
Life expectancy (ranking)83.50 years (2020)
Birth rate5.20 ‰ (2022)
Fertility rate0.81 children / woman (2021)
Death rate (ranking)7.40 ‰ (2022)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)2.70 ‰ (2019)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2022)
Official languagesKorean
CurrencyWon (₩ KRW)
HDI (ranking: 32e)0.916 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)62.30 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Yoon Seok-youl
National Day15 August
DemonymSouth Korean
Tourists (ranking)15,347,000 people (2018)
South Korea – small

South Korea is an East Asian country that covers the southern half of the Korean peninsula. Its only land border is North, with North Korea. It is located in the North Sea of China, between China and Japan, of which it is a former colony.

Séoul, capitale de la Corée du Sud
Seoul, capital city of South Korea
Jardin du matin calme, Achim Goyo, à Sang-Myun, province de Gyeonggi, Corée du Sud
Quiet morning garden, Achim Goyo, in Sang-Myun, province of Gyeonggi, South Korea
Séoul de nuit, Corée du Sud
Seoul at night, South Korea
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
Seoul26,000,782 inhabitants
Busan8,050,434 inhabitants
Daegu3,384,253 inhabitants
Daejeon2,037,823 inhabitants
Gwangju1,694,454 inhabitants
Ulsan1,516,703 inhabitants
Jeonju1,042,484 inhabitants
Cheongju846,650 inhabitants
Pohang784,645 inhabitants
Suncheon724,270 inhabitants
Cheonan630,100 inhabitants
Jeju469,279 inhabitants
Jinju454,081 inhabitants
Gumi420,320 inhabitants
Mokpo238,450 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Busan (Ville métropolitaine)3,498,529 inhabitants763 km²
Chungcheong du Nord1,591,625 inhabitants7,432 km²
Chungcheong du Sud2,096,727 inhabitants8,205 km²
Daegu (Ville métropolitaine)2,484,557 inhabitants884 km²
Daejeon (Ville métropolitaine)1,514,370 inhabitants540 km²
Gangwon1,550,806 inhabitants16,875 km²
Gwangju (Ville métropolitaine)1,469,214 inhabitants501 km²
Gyeonggi12,716,780 inhabitants10,184 km²
Gyeongsang du Nord2,700,398 inhabitants19,026 km²
Gyeongsang du Sud3,373,871 inhabitants10,531 km²
Incheon (Ville métropolitaine)3,002,645 inhabitants1,050 km²
Jeju (Province spéciale autonome)641,597 inhabitants1,849 km²
Jeolla du Nord1,864,791 inhabitants8,067 km²
Jeolla du Sud1,903,914 inhabitants12,319 km²
Sejong (Ville spéciale autonome)243,048 inhabitants465 km²
Seoul (Special City)9,930,616 inhabitants605 km²
Ulsan (Ville métropolitaine)1,172,304 inhabitants1,060 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also