Faroe Islands

Official nameFaroe Islands
Name in local languageFøroyar (fo) ; Færøerne (da)
SubcontinentEurope (outside the European Union)
Population (ranking: 224e)51,312 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.61 % / year
Area1,393 km²
Density36.84 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 189e)2.689 billions $USD (2016)
GDP/capita (ranking)55,823 $USD (2016)
GDP growth5.64 % / year (2016)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.20 years (2017)
Birth rate13.50 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.47 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)8.97 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.05 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2019)
Official languagesFaroese, Danish
CurrencyFaroese króna (DKK)
HDI (ranking: 8e)0.950 / 1 (2008)
EPI (ranking)81.60 (2018)
GovernmentDevolved government within parliamentary constitutional monarchy (autonomous since 1948)
Head of StateQueen Margrethe II ; High Commissioner Lene Moyell Johansen ; Prime Minister Aksel V. Johannesen
National Day29 July (Ólavsøka ; Further autonomy in 2005)
DemonymFaroe Islander, Faroese
Tourists (ranking)137,538 people (2018)
Féroé – petite

The Faroe Islands are a sparsely populated subarctic archipelago, located between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, halfway between Scotland in the United Kingdom and Iceland. The Faroe Islands form a constituent country of the Kingdom of Denmark, with Denmark and Greenland. They have been an autonomous province of Denmark since 1948.

Falaises, Féroé
Cliffs, Faroe. Source: Wildlife Archives

The territory lives mainly from fishing and aquaculture, of which it exports the majority of products to the European Union. Almost half of the population lives in the capital’s urban area, Tórshavn.

Tórshavn, capitale des Féroé
Tórshavn, capital of the Faroe Islands. Photo: Arne
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Tórshavn21,768 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions (Sýslur)PopulationArea
Eysturoy11,214 inhabitants286 km²
Norðoyar (Northern Isles)6,053 inhabitants239 km²
Sandoy1,282 inhabitants124 km²
Streymoy24,052 inhabitants392 km²
Suðuroy4,632 inhabitants166 km²
Vágar3,218 inhabitants186 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also