Official nameSocialist Republic of Vietnam
Name in local languageCộng hòa xã hội chủ nghĩa Việt Nam (vi)
SubcontinentSoutheast Asia
Population (ranking: 15e)97,709,844 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth1.56 % / year
Area331,236 km²
Density294.99 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 48e)244.948 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)2,564 $USD (2018)
GDP growth7.10 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)75.30 years (2018)
Birth rate15.96 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.09 children / woman (2019)
Death rate (ranking)5.93 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)18.39 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate94.51 % (2015)
Official languagesVietnamese
CurrencyĐồng (₫ VND)
HDI (ranking: 158e)0.693 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)46.96 (2018)
GovernmentMarxist-Leninist one-party socialist republic (dictatorship de facto)
Head of StatePresident Nguyễn Phú Trọng
National Day2 September (independence of 1945, recognized in 1954)
Tourists (ranking)10,012,700 people (2016)
Viêt Nam – petite
Still strong growth of the population

Vietnam is a Southeast Asian country located east of the Indochinese peninsula in southern China. It also shares borders with Cambodia and Laos. It is one of the most populous countries in the world.

Viêt Nam - Baie de Ha Long
Bay of Ha Long, Vietnam. Source: Most Beautiful Spots
Hô-Chi-Minh-Ville - Viêt Nam
Ho Chi Minh City – Vietnam. Photo: Hieucd
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Hô-Chi-Minh-Ville (Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh)13,648,914 inhabitants
Hanoï (Hà Nội)7,588,150 inhabitants
Haïphong (Hải Phòng)2,103,500 inhabitants
Cần Thơ1,603,543 inhabitants
Đà Nẵng1,046,876 inhabitants
Nha Trang392,279 inhabitants
Huế333,715 inhabitants
Vũng Tàu282,415 inhabitants
Quy Nhơn255,463 inhabitants
Rạch Giá252,585 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Central Highlands (Tây Nguyên)5,693,200 inhabitants54,508 km²
Mekong River Delta (Đồng bằng sông Cửu Long)17,660,700 inhabitants40,816 km²
North Central and Central coastal areas (Bắc Trung Bộ và Duyên hải miền Trung)19,798,800 inhabitants95,871 km²
Northern midlands and mountain areas (Trung du và miền núi phía Bắc)11,984,300 inhabitants95,222 km²
Red River Delta (Đồng bằng sông Hồng)21,133,800 inhabitants21,260 km²
South East (Dông Nam Bô)16,424,300 inhabitants23,553 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also