Official nameKingdom of Cambodia
Name in local languagePreăhréachéanachâkr Kâmpŭchéa - ព្រះរាជាណាចក្រកម្ពុជា (km) ; Royaume du Cambodge (fr)
SubcontinentSoutheast Asia
Population (ranking: 73e)15,288,489 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.28 % / year
Area181,035 km²
Density84.45 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 112e)24.572 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,512 $USD (2018)
GDP growth7.50 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)69.60 years (2018)
Birth rate23.30 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.56 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)6.05 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)25.10 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate79.80 % (2013)
Official languagesKhmer (French spoken)
CurrencyRiel (KHR)
HDI (ranking: 184e)0.581 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)43.23 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party parliamentary elective constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Norodom Sihamoni
National Day9 November (independence of 1953)
Tourists (ranking)5,602,000 people (2017)
Cambodia – small

Cambodia is a country in Southeast Asia located in the heart of the Indochina Peninsula. It is bordered by the Gulf of Thailand, a country with which it shares a border to the west and north. Its other neighbors are Laos to the north and Vietnam to the east and south-east.

Angkor Wat, Cambodia
Angkor Wat, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, capital of Cambodia
Phnom Penh, capital of Cambodia
Phnom Penh, capital of Cambodia
Phnom Penh, capital of Cambodia
Slums in Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Slums in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Photo: Martin Roemers
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
Phnom Penh3,324,918 inhabitants
Battambang249,743 inhabitants
Siem Reap230,714 inhabitants
Sisophon (Serei Saophoan)190,349 inhabitants
Poipet - Aranyaprathet (Thailand)178,265 inhabitants
Kampong Cham118,699 inhabitants
Sihanoukville100,856 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Banteay Meanchey859,545 inhabitants6,679 km²
Battambang987,400 inhabitants11,702 km²
Kampong Cham895,763 inhabitants4,549 km²
Kampong Chhnang525,932 inhabitants5,521 km²
Kampong Speu525,932 inhabitants7,017 km²
Kampong Thom677,260 inhabitants13,814 km²
Kampot592,845 inhabitants4,873 km²
Kandal1,195,547 inhabitants3,253 km²
Kep41,798 inhabitants336 km²
Koh Kong123,618 inhabitants10,090 km²
Kratié372,825 inhabitants11,094 km²
Mondul Kiri88,649 inhabitants14,288 km²
Oddar Meanchey261,252 inhabitants6,158 km²
Pailin71,600 inhabitants803 km²
Phnom Penh2,129,371 inhabitants684 km²
Preah Sihanouk302,887 inhabitants1,938 km²
Preah Vihear251,352 inhabitants13,788 km²
Prey Veng1,057,428 inhabitants4,883 km²
Pursat411,759 inhabitants12,692 km²
Ratanak Kiri204,027 inhabitants10,782 km²
Siem Reap1,006,512 inhabitants10,299 km²
Stung Treng159,565 inhabitants11,092 km²
Svay Rieng525,554 inhabitants2,966 km²
Takéo899,485 inhabitants3,563 km²
Tboung Khmum775,296 inhabitants5,250 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also