Trinidad and Tobago

Official nameRepublic of Trinidad and Tobago
Name in local languageRepublic of Trinidad and Tobago (en)
Population (ranking: 160e)1,359,193 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.00 % / year
Area5,155 km²
Density263.66 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 116e)23.410 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)16,844 $USD (2018)
GDP growth0.70 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)73.40 years (2018)
Birth rate12.83 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.71 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)8.23 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)23.00 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.00 % (2015)
Official languagesEnglish
CurrencyTrinidad and Tobago dollar ($ TTD)
HDI (ranking: 90e)0.799 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)67.36 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Paula-Mae Weekes
National Day31 August (independence of 1962)
DemonymTrinidadians and Tobagonians
Tourists (ranking)395,000 people (2017)
Trinidad and Tobago – small

Trinidad and Tobago is a Caribbean island state located in the Caribbean Sea, off Venezuela and south of Grenada, and a member of the British Commonwealth. The archipelago is made up of two islands 32 kilometers apart: Trinidad and Tobago.

Port of Spain, capitale of Trinidad and Tobago. Photo: Central Statistical Office of Trinidad and Tobago
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Port-d'Espagne829,097 inhabitants
San Fernando353,386 inhabitants
Scarborough49,882 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions, Borough, CitiesPopulationArea
Arima (Borough)33,606 inhabitants11 km²
Chaguanas (Borough)83,516 inhabitants60 km²
Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo178,410 inhabitants720 km²
Diego Martin102,957 inhabitants128 km²
Penal-Debe89,392 inhabitants247 km²
Point Fortin (Borough)20,235 inhabitants24 km²
Port-d'Espagne (Ville)37,074 inhabitants13 km²
Princes Town102,375 inhabitants621 km²
Rio Claro-Mayaro35,650 inhabitants853 km²
San Fernando (Ville)48,838 inhabitants19 km²
San Juan-Laventille157,258 inhabitants220 km²
Sangre Grande75,766 inhabitants899 km²
Siparia86,949 inhabitants510 km²
Tobago60,874 inhabitants303 km²
Tunapuna-Piarco215,119 inhabitants527 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also