Official nameState of Mongolia
Name in local languageᠮᠣᠩᠭᠣᠯ ᠤᠯᠤᠰ (mn-Mong) ; Монгол Улс (mn-Cyrl) ; Mongol Uls (mn-Latn)
SubcontinentEast Asia
Population (ranking: 138e)3,229,638 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.86 % / year
Area1,564,116 km²
Density2.06 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 141e)13.010 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)4,104 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.90 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)69.70 years (2018)
Birth rate25.40 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate3.00 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)5.20 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)13.00 ‰ (2018)
Literacy rate98.38 % (2015)
Official languagesMongolian
CurrencyTögrög (MNT)
HDI (ranking: 127e)0.735 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)57.51 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Khaltmaagiin Battulga
National Day11 July (revolution of 1921)
DemonymMongolian, Mongol
Tourists (ranking)469,000 people (2017)
Mongolie – petite
Difficult situation in the countryside, and mass exodus to the cities

Mongolia is an Asian country without access to the sea, landlocked between Russia to the north and China to the south. It is a country of immense steppes, mountains and desert, including the famous Gobi Desert.
The serious difficulties of the countryside in recent years – droughts and cold weather have decimated the livestock – have pushed a large number of peasants to cities, mainly the capital Ulaanbaatar.

Mongolie - nomades
Mongolia – nomads
Oulan-Bator - Blue Sky Hotel
Ulaanbaatar – Blue Sky Hotel
Oulan-Bator, Mongolie
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. Photo: Yoann G.
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Oulan-Bator1,465,379 inhabitants
Erdenet (Bayan-Undur)98,050 inhabitants
Darkhan82,247 inhabitants
Choybalsan46,892 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Provinces (Aimag)PopulationArea
Arkhangai92,059 inhabitants55,314 km²
Bayan-Ölgii100,189 inhabitants45,705 km²
Bayankhongor83,936 inhabitants115,978 km²
Bulgan60,014 inhabitants48,733 km²
Centre (Région)485,525 inhabitants473,554 km²
Darkhan-Uul100,939 inhabitants3,275 km²
Dornod76,476 inhabitants123,597 km²
Dornogovi65,267 inhabitants109,472 km²
Dundgovi44,429 inhabitants74,690 km²
Est (Région)208,119 inhabitants286,209 km²
Govi-Altai56,209 inhabitants141,448 km²
Govisümber16,522 inhabitants5,542 km²
Khangai (Région)577,252 inhabitants384,393 km²
Khentii72,609 inhabitants80,325 km²
Khovd83,517 inhabitants76,133 km²
Khövsgöl128,159 inhabitants100,629 km²
Ömnögovi61,655 inhabitants165,380 km²
Orkhon101,891 inhabitants844 km²
Ouest (Région)390,594 inhabitants415,327 km²
Oulan-Bator1,465,379 inhabitants4,704 km²
Övörkhangai112,353 inhabitants62,895 km²
Selenge106,292 inhabitants41,153 km²
Sükhbaatar59,034 inhabitants82,287 km²
Töv90,421 inhabitants74,042 km²
Uvs80,763 inhabitants69,585 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also