Official nameRepublic of Madagascar
Name in local languageRépublique de Madagascar (fr) ; Repoblikan'i Madagasikara (mg)
SubcontinentEast Africa
Population (ranking: 52e)27,249,564 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth3.01 % / year
Area587,295 km²
Density46.40 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 147e)12.100 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)461 $USD (2018)
GDP growth5.20 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)66.70 years (2018)
Birth rate33.58 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate4.36 children / woman (2013)
Death rate (ranking)7.10 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)46.13 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate64.66 % (2015)
Official languagesMalagasy, French
CurrencyMalagasy ariary (MGA)
HDI (ranking: 201e)0.521 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)33.73 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Andry Rajoelina
National Day26 June (independence in 1960)
Tourists (ranking)255,000 people (2017)
Development hampered by political instability

Madagascar is an island state in East Africa consisting of a large island in the Indian Ocean separated from the rest of the continent by the Mozambique Channel. It is the fifth largest island in the world.
Madagascar is a beautiful island with immense natural wealth. Its resources, its fauna and flora make it a unique place on Earth. Most of the species found on the island are endemic. All of these assets are attractive from a tourism perspective, and growth in this industry is important.

Baobabs, Madagascar
Baobabs, Madagascar. Photo: Marsel van Oosten
Lac Anosy, Antananarivo
Lake Anosy, Antananarivo. Photo: Sascha Grabow
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Antananarivo (Tananarive)3,209,933 inhabitants
Toamasina (Tamatave)411,993 inhabitants
Antsirabé338,986 inhabitants
Mahajanga (Majunga)244,279 inhabitants
Fianarantsoa200,482 inhabitants
Toliara (Tuléar)170,194 inhabitants
Ambovombe126,321 inhabitants
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)125,103 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Alaotra Mangoro1,054,958 inhabitants31,948 km²
Amoron'i Mania734,413 inhabitants16,141 km²
Analamanga3,439,589 inhabitants16,911 km²
Analanjirofo1,063,197 inhabitants21,930 km²
Androy753,832 inhabitants19,317 km²
Anôsy690,019 inhabitants25,731 km²
Atsimo-Andrefana1,352,456 inhabitants66,236 km²
Atsimo-Atsinanana923,068 inhabitants18,863 km²
Atsinanana1,305,132 inhabitants21,934 km²
Betsiboka301,480 inhabitants30,025 km²
Boeny821,356 inhabitants31,046 km²
Bongolava469,769 inhabitants16,688 km²
Diana719,000 inhabitants19,266 km²
Haute Matsiatra1,231,696 inhabitants21,080 km²
Ihorombe320,775 inhabitants26,391 km²
Itasy752,703 inhabitants6,993 km²
Melaky297,446 inhabitants38,852 km²
Menabe608,166 inhabitants46,121 km²
Sava (Sambava, Antalaha, Vohémar et Andapa)1,007,399 inhabitants25,518 km²
Sofia1,280,847 inhabitants50,100 km²
Vakinankaratra1,852,199 inhabitants16,599 km²
Vatovavy Fitovinany1,454,863 inhabitants19,605 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also