Official nameRepublic of Haiti
Name in local languageRepiblik Ayiti (ht) ; République d'Haïti (fr)
Population (ranking: 80e)11,946,331 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth1.52 % / year
Area27,065 km²
Density441.39 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 140e)13.418 billions $USD (2020)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,177 $USD (2020)
GDP growth-3.40 % / year (2020)
Life expectancy (ranking)63.70 years (2018)
Birth rate24.10 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.90 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)8.20 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)39.00 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate60.73 % (2015)
Official languagesFrench, Haitian Creole
CurrencyHaitian gourde (HTG)
HDI (ranking: 206e)0.510 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)33.74 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StateVacant ; Prime Minister Ariel Henry
National Day1st January (independence of 1804)
Tourists (ranking)467,000 people (2017)
Haïti – petite
A country still in chaos

Haiti is a country in the Greater Antilles, which occupies the western third of the island of Hispaniola. It shares this large island, the most populated of the Antilles, with the Dominican Republic. It is the only independent French-speaking Caribbean country.

Port-au-Prince and its bay, viewed from the terrace of the Hotel Montana in Pétionville in 2007. Photo: Elena Heredero
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Port-au-Prince3,744,077 inhabitants
Cap-Haïtien454,071 inhabitants
Gonaïves356,324 inhabitants
Saint-Marc266,642 inhabitants
Port-de-Paix203,975 inhabitants
Jacmel187,253 inhabitants
Dessalines181,903 inhabitants
Petite Rivière de l'Artibonite170,740 inhabitants
Gros Morne155,692 inhabitants
Les Cayes151,696 inhabitants
Jean Rabel148,416 inhabitants
Jérémie134,317 inhabitants
Arcahaie130,306 inhabitants
Hinche120,867 inhabitants
Ouanaminthe106,129 inhabitants
Aquin104,216 inhabitants
Mirebalais97,755 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Artibonite1,727,524 inhabitants4,887 km²
Centre746,236 inhabitants3,487 km²
Grande Anse468,301 inhabitants1,912 km²
Nippes342,525 inhabitants1,268 km²
Nord1,067,177 inhabitants2,115 km²
Nord-Est393,967 inhabitants1,623 km²
Nord-Ouest728,807 inhabitants2,103 km²
Ouest4,029,705 inhabitants4,983 km²
Sud774,976 inhabitants2,654 km²
Sud-Est632,601 inhabitants2,034 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also