Dominican Republic

Official nameDominican Republic
Name in local languageRepública Dominicana (es)
Population (ranking: 92e)10,266,149 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.95 % / year
Area48,311 km²
Density212.50 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 70e)81.299 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)7,650 $USD (2018)
GDP growth7.00 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)73.80 years (2018)
Birth rate19.78 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.34 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)6.37 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)22.90 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate97.90 % (2015)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyDominican Peso (DOP)
HDI (ranking: 122e)0.745 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)64.71 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Danilo Medina
National Day27 February (independence of 1844)
Tourists (ranking)6,187,542 people (2017)
République dominicaine – petite

The Dominican Republic is a country located in the Greater Antilles, in the Caribbean. It occupies about two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola, which it shares with Haiti. It is divided into 10 regions, further subdivided into 31 provinces and one district, the National District, which includes the capital Santo Domingo.
Founded in 1496, Santo Domingo is the oldest continuously populated European city on the American continent.

Bord de mer en République dominicaine
Seaside in the Dominican Republic. Source: Most Beautiful Picture
République dominicaine - plages
Heavenly beaches in the Dominican Republic
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Santo Domingo4,263,801 inhabitants
Santiago1,007,808 inhabitants
Concepción de La Vega404,013 inhabitants
Puerto Plata328,498 inhabitants
Higüey314,916 inhabitants
San Pedro de Macorís298,633 inhabitants
San Francisco de Macorís294,906 inhabitants
La Romana260,002 inhabitants
Moca236,467 inhabitants
San Juan227,640 inhabitants
Baní191,439 inhabitants
Bonao170,208 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Cibao Nord1,572,773 inhabitants4,452 km²
Cibao Nord-Est635,915 inhabitants4,125 km²
Cibao Nord-Ouest407,175 inhabitants4,851 km²
Cibao Sud726,244 inhabitants4,453 km²
El Valle291,090 inhabitants4,757 km²
Enriquillo377,027 inhabitants6,670 km²
Higuamo572,865 inhabitants5,185 km²
Métropolitaine (Metropolitana)3,658,648 inhabitants1,387 km²
Valdesia1,072,912 inhabitants5,562 km²
Yuma665,594 inhabitants5,425 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also