Official nameRepublic of Finland
Name in local languageSuomen tasavalta (fi) ; Republiken Finland (sv)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 119e)5,537,519 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth0.18 % / year
Area338,452 km²
Density16.36 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 42e)275.683 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)49,960 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)81.70 years (2018)
Birth rate9.10 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate1.57 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)9.80 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)1.90 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesFinnish, Swedish, Sámi
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 24e)0.925 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)78.64 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Sauli Niinistö
National Day6 December (independence in 1917)
Tourists (ranking)3,181,000 people (2017)
Finlande – petite

Finland is a state of Northern Europe. It is bathed by the Baltic Sea, with the Gulf of Bothnia to the west and the Gulf of Finland to the south. Comprising more than 3,000 lakes and island expanses, including the Åland Autonomous Archipelago, it occupies a vast territory between Russia to the east, Norway to the north and Sweden to the northwest.

Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, Saariselkä, Finland. Source: MostBeautifulSpots on Wildlife Archives

Aurore boréale, Finlande
Northern lights, Finland. Source: Most Beautiful Spots
Helsinki, capitale de la Finlande
Helsinki, capital of the Finland. Photo: Roccodm
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Helsinki1,456,619 inhabitants
Tampere398,463 inhabitants
Turku325,340 inhabitants
Oulu246,667 inhabitants
Lhati201,685 inhabitants
Jyväskylä183,050 inhabitants
Kuopio139,508 inhabitants
Pori134,462 inhabitants
Seinäjoki126,894 inhabitants
Joensuu124,735 inhabitants
Vaasa101,372 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Åland (Province, État libre associé)29,214 inhabitants1,553 km²
Carélie du Nord164,085 inhabitants17,761 km²
Carélie du Sud130,506 inhabitants5,327 km²
Finlande centrale276,196 inhabitants16,703 km²
Finlande du Sud-Ouest475,543 inhabitants10,663 km²
Kainuu74,803 inhabitants20,197 km²
Kanta-Häme173,781 inhabitants5,199 km²
Laponie180,207 inhabitants92,674 km²
Ostrobotnie181,441 inhabitants7,753 km²
Ostrobotnie centrale69,027 inhabitants5,020 km²
Ostrobotnie du Nord411,150 inhabitants36,815 km²
Ostrobotnie du Sud191,860 inhabitants13,444 km²
Päijät-Häme201,685 inhabitants5,125 km²
Pirkanmaa509,356 inhabitants12,585 km²
Satakunta221,740 inhabitants7,820 km²
Savonie du Nord247,776 inhabitants16,768 km²
Savonie du Sud148,975 inhabitants14,257 km²
Uusimaa1,638,293 inhabitants9,097 km²
Vallée de la Kymi177,659 inhabitants5,149 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also