Official nameKingdom of Sweden
Name in local languageKonungariket Sverige (sv)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 89e)10,402,070 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth0.50 % / year
Area528,861 km²
Density19.67 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 24e)537.610 billions $USD (2020)
GDP/capita (ranking)51,926 $USD (2020)
GDP growth-2.80 % / year (2020)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.70 years (2018)
Birth rate11.90 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate1.78 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)9.20 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)2.41 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2021)
Official languagesSwedish
CurrencySwedish krona (SEK)
HDI (ranking: 12e)0.945 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)80.51 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Carl XVI Gustaf
National Day6 June
Tourists (ranking)7,054,000 people (2017)
Suède – petite
10 million unhabitants

Sweden is a northern European state located in Scandinavia. It shares borders with Norway to the west, Finland to the north-east, and is separated from Denmark by the Øresund, a strait whose narrowest section is 4 kilometers wide. A bridge crosses this strait, connecting the two cities of Copenhagen, the capital of Denmark, and Malmö, the third largest city in Sweden. The capital of Sweden is Stockholm. The inhabitants of the country are called Swedes. His official language and majority language is Swedish. Finnish and Sami are also spoken, mainly in the north of the country, a region occupied by Lapland, called Sápmi by its inhabitants, the Sami (or Sames), who were the first inhabitants of northern Scandinavia.

Vieille ville de Stockholm, capitale de la Suède
Old town of Stockholm, capitale of Sweden. Photo: Arild Vågen


See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2021)
Urban areasPopulation
Stockholm2,395,679 inhabitants
Göteborg (Gothenburg)1,051,244 inhabitants
Malmö749,427 inhabitants
Uppsala234,384 inhabitants
Linköping164,684 inhabitants
Örebro156,295 inhabitants
Västerås155,858 inhabitants
Helsingborg149,407 inhabitants
Norrköping143,599 inhabitants
Jönköping142,630 inhabitants
Umeå130,255 inhabitants
Borås113,763 inhabitants
Eskilstuna107,039 inhabitants
Halmstad103,988 inhabitants
Gävle102,910 inhabitants
Sundsvall99,448 inhabitants
Växjö94,884 inhabitants
Karlstad94,823 inhabitants
Kristianstad86,286 inhabitants
Luleå78,487 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Blekinge158,871 inhabitants2,931 km²
Dalarna287,839 inhabitants28,029 km²
Gävleborg287,530 inhabitants18,118 km²
Gotland60,288 inhabitants3,135 km²
Halland337,361 inhabitants5,427 km²
Jämtland131,356 inhabitants48,935 km²
Jönköping365,369 inhabitants10,437 km²
Kalmar246,152 inhabitants11,165 km²
Kronoberg202,274 inhabitants8,424 km²
Norrbotten249,505 inhabitants97,239 km²
Örebro305,653 inhabitants8,504 km²
Östergötland467,510 inhabitants10,559 km²
Skåne1,391,075 inhabitants10,968 km²
Södermanland299,641 inhabitants6,075 km²
Stockholm2,395,679 inhabitants6,524 km²
Uppsala389,491 inhabitants8,190 km²
Värmland282,762 inhabitants17,519 km²
Västerbotten273,319 inhabitants54,665 km²
Västernorrland244,607 inhabitants21,549 km²
Västmanland277,645 inhabitants5,118 km²
Västra Götaland1,735,879 inhabitants23,800 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also