Official nameArab Republic of Egypt
Name in local languageجمهوريّة مصر العربيّة (ar)
SubcontinentNorth Africa
Population (ranking: 14e)100,004,225 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth1.96 % / year
Area1,010,408 km²
Density98.97 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 46e)250.895 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)2,549 $USD (2018)
GDP growth5.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)71.80 years (2018)
Birth rate27.80 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate3.34 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)6.13 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)20.30 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate73.75 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic (French and English often spoken)
CurrencyEgyptian pound (£ EGP)
HDI (ranking: 154e)0.700 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)61.21 (2018)
GovernmentRepublic (authoritarian, close to a dictatorship)
Head of StatePresident Abdel Fattah el-Sisi
National Day23 July (Revolution of 1952)
Tourists (ranking)8,157,000 people (2017)
Égypte – petite
100 million inhabitants

Egypt is a transcontinental country spanning the northeast corner of Africa and southwest corner of Asia by a land bridge formed by the Sinai Peninsula. it is also a Mediterranean country bordered by the Palestine (Gaza Strip) and Israel to the northeast, the Gulf of Aqaba to the east, the Red Sea to the east and south, Sudan to the south, and Libya to the west. Across the Gulf of Aqaba lies Jordan, and across from the Sinai Peninsula lies Saudi Arabia, although Jordan and Saudi Arabia do not share a land border with Egypt.

Pyramide et Sphinx de Gizeh, Le Caire, Égypte.
Pyramid and Sphinx of Giza, Cairo, Egypt
Le Caire, capitale de l'Égypte
Cairo, capital of Egypt. Photo: Raduasandei
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
Cairo24,439,785 inhabitants
Alexandria5,278,745 inhabitants
Damietta1,535,860 inhabitants
Luxor1,291,530 inhabitants
Ismaïlia766,669 inhabitants
Port Said762,179 inhabitants
Suez747,610 inhabitants
Mansourah632,900 inhabitants
El-Mahalla El-Koubra535,278 inhabitants
Tanta437,793 inhabitants
Assiout403,202 inhabitants
Médinet el-Fayoum349,883 inhabitants
Zagazig319,707 inhabitants
Assouan290,327 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Alexandria5,278,745 inhabitants2,300 km²
Aswan1,530,214 inhabitants62,726 km²
Asyut4,564,216 inhabitants13,720 km²
Beheira6,386,281 inhabitants9,826 km²
Beni Suef3,282,678 inhabitants10,954 km²
Cairo9,771,217 inhabitants3,085 km²
Dakahlia6,673,808 inhabitants3,538 km²
Damietta1,535,860 inhabitants910 km²
Faiyum3,736,394 inhabitants6,068 km²
Gharbia5,141,966 inhabitants1,942 km²
Giza8,888,401 inhabitants13,184 km²
Ismailia1,345,255 inhabitants5,067 km²
Kafr El Sheik3,472,224 inhabitants3,467 km²
Luxor1,291,530 inhabitants55 km²
Matruh453,802 inhabitants166,563 km²
Minya5,721,511 inhabitants32,279 km²
Monufia4,433,135 inhabitants2,499 km²
New Valley249,156 inhabitants440,098 km²
North Sinai462,854 inhabitants27,564 km²
Port Said762,179 inhabitants1,345 km²
Qalyubia5,780,167 inhabitants1,124 km²
Qena3,295,256 inhabitants10,798 km²
Red Sea371,861 inhabitants119,099 km²
Sharqia7,378,550 inhabitants4,911 km²
Sohag5,176,178 inhabitants11,218 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also