Central African Republic

Official nameCentral African Republic
Name in local languageRépublique centrafricaine - Centrafrique (fr) ; Ködörösêse tî Bêafrîka (sg)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 116e)5,745,135 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.14 % / year
Area622,984 km²
Density9.22 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 199e)2.380 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)510 $USD (2018)
GDP growth4.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)52.80 years (2018)
Birth rate35.80 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate4.52 children / woman (2013)
Death rate (ranking)14.42 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)95.04 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate56.60 % (2011)
Official languagesFrench, sango
CurrencyCentral African CFA franc (XAF)
HDI (ranking: 227e)0.381 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)36.42 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Faustin-Archange Touadéra
National Day1st December
DemonymCentral African
Tourists (ranking)121,000 people (2015)
République centrafricaine – petite
Chaos and insecurity

The Central African Republic is a developing country in Central Africa. It’s a landlocked country. It is surrounded by Cameroon to the west, Chad to the north, Sudan and South Sudan to the east, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Congo to the south.

Centrafrique - Bangui
Bangui, capital of the Central African Republic
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Bangui1,145,280 inhabitants
Bimbo143,690 inhabitants
Berbérati128,430 inhabitants
Carnot57,784 inhabitants
Bambari47,106 inhabitants
Bouar44,388 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Bamingui-Bangoran54,346 inhabitants58,429 km²
Bangui (Commune)839,081 inhabitants67 km²
Basse-Kotto313,224 inhabitants16,884 km²
Haut-Mbomou72,416 inhabitants56,678 km²
Haute-Kotto113,543 inhabitants85,829 km²
Kémo148,874 inhabitants16,508 km²
Lobaye310,365 inhabitants18,570 km²
Mambéré-Kadéï458,611 inhabitants29,686 km²
Mbomou206,188 inhabitants60,309 km²
Nana-Grébizi148,115 inhabitants19,670 km²
Nana-Mambéré293,759 inhabitants27,442 km²
Ombella-M'Poko448,465 inhabitants31,914 km²
Ouaka347,872 inhabitants49,900 km²
Ouham464,174 inhabitants52,893 km²
Ouham-Pendé541,221 inhabitants31,930 km²
Sangha-Mbaéré127,068 inhabitants18,703 km²
Vakaga65,694 inhabitants46,739 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also