Official nameIreland
Name in local languageÉire (ga) ; Ireland (en)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 129e)4,857,198 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.35 % / year
Area70,182 km²
Density69.21 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 34e)375.903 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)77,450 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.70 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.10 years (2018)
Birth rate14.20 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate1.90 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)6.50 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.10 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesIrish, English
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 15e)0.942 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)78.77 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Michael D. Higgins
National DayNone until Ireland is reunified
Tourists (ranking)10,100,000 people (2016)
Irlande – petite

Ireland is a Western European country located in the North Atlantic Ocean, west of the United Kingdom, and a member of the European Union since 1973. It is a republic that extends over 26 of the 32 historic counties of the island of Ireland which it shares with Northern Ireland (the remaining six counties), remained a constituent part of the United Kingdom.

Moher Cliffs, Ireland. Source: Wildlife Archives

Irlande - Cork, maisons
Ireland – Cork, houses. Photo: Psyberartist
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Dublin1,907,332 inhabitants
Cork409,216 inhabitants
Limerick162,413 inhabitants
Galway118,570 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Counties and ProvincesPopulationArea
Carlow56,932 inhabitants898 km²
Cavan76,176 inhabitants1,932 km²
Clare118,817 inhabitants3,442 km²
Connacht (Province)550,688 inhabitants17,713 km²
Cork542,868 inhabitants7,508 km²
Donegal159,192 inhabitants4,860 km²
Dublin Sud264,174 inhabitants223 km²
Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown206,261 inhabitants127 km²
Fingal273,051 inhabitants453 km²
Galway258,058 inhabitants6,151 km²
Kerry147,707 inhabitants4,735 km²
Kildare222,504 inhabitants1,694 km²
Kilkenny99,232 inhabitants2,072 km²
Laois84,697 inhabitants1,719 km²
Leinster (Province)2,634,403 inhabitants19,774 km²
Leitrim32,044 inhabitants1,589 km²
Limerick194,899 inhabitants2,760 km²
Longford40,873 inhabitants1,091 km²
Louth128,884 inhabitants832 km²
Mayo130,507 inhabitants5,588 km²
Meath195,044 inhabitants2,335 km²
Monaghan61,386 inhabitants1,296 km²
Munster (Province)1,280,020 inhabitants24,608 km²
Offaly77,961 inhabitants1,990 km²
Roscommon64,544 inhabitants2,548 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also