Official nameGabonese Republic
Name in local languageRépublique gabonaise (fr)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 154e)2,074,656 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth1.96 % / year
Area267,667 km²
Density7.75 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 124e)16.658 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)7,667 $USD (2019)
GDP growth3.40 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)66.20 years (2018)
Birth rate30.17 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate3.91 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)8.63 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)36.10 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate83.18 % (2015)
Official languagesFrench
CurrencyCentral African CFA franc (XAF)
HDI (ranking: 150e)0.702 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)45.05 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party presidential republic (dictatorship in facts)
Head of StatePresident Ali Bongo Ondimba
National Day12 March, 17 August (independence of 1960)
Tourists (ranking)90,000 people (2011)
Gabon – petite
A rich country with a very poor population

Gabon is a country in Central Africa. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Congo to the south and east, Equatorial Guinea to the northwest and Cameroon to the north. Former French colony, Gabon is independent since 1960. It is crossed by the equator.

Gorille, Gabon. Parc national Moukalaba-Doudouk
Gorilla, Moukalaba-Doudouk National Park, Gabon. Photo: David Korte. Source: Wildlife Archives
Libreville, capitale du Gabon
Libreville, capitale of Gabon. Photo: Bajan28
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Libreville967,095 inhabitants
Port-Gentil147,817 inhabitants
Franceville (Masuku)128,729 inhabitants
Oyem71,259 inhabitants
Mouanda68,870 inhabitants
Lambaréné44,249 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Estuaire895,689 inhabitants20,740 km²
Haut-Ogooué250,799 inhabitants36,547 km²
Moyen-Ogooué69,287 inhabitants18,535 km²
Ngounié100,838 inhabitants37,750 km²
Nyanga52,854 inhabitants21,285 km²
Ogooué-Ivindo63,293 inhabitants46,075 km²
Ogooué-Lolo65,771 inhabitants25,380 km²
Ogooué-Maritime157,562 inhabitants22,890 km²
Woleu-Ntem154,986 inhabitants38,465 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also