Official nameRepublic of Liberia
Name in local languageLiberia (en)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 121e)5,310,548 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth4.21 % / year
Area111,370 km²
Density47.68 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 192e)3.249 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)674 $USD (2018)
GDP growth1.22 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)63.70 years (2018)
Birth rate33.90 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate4.60 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)9.50 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)65.80 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate54.47 % (2015)
Official languagesEnglish
CurrencyLiberian dollar ($ LRD) ; United States dollar ($ USD, de facto)
HDI (ranking: 214e)0.465 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)41.62 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident George Weah
National Day26 July (independence of 1847)
Libéria – petite

Liberia is a country located in West Africa, bordered on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, northwest by Sierra Leone, north by Guinea and east by Côte d’Ivoire. It was the first African nation to gain independence in 1847 (from the United States). The peculiarity of Liberia comes from the fact that it was formed from American settlers, freed black slaves. Then for a century, American-Liberians dominated the country to the detriment of natives, who were second-class citizens, with no voting rights, which created serious tensions in society.

Île Bushrod, Monrovia, Libéria
Bushrod Island, Monrovia, Liberia
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Monrovia1,716,637 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Bomi89,272 inhabitants1,942 km²
Bong364,146 inhabitants8,772 km²
Gbarpolu106,750 inhabitants9,689 km²
Grand Bassa259,239 inhabitants7,936 km²
Grand Cape Mount159,370 inhabitants5,162 km²
Grand Gedeh173,489 inhabitants10,484 km²
Grand Kru59,265 inhabitants3,895 km²
Lofa306,093 inhabitants9,982 km²
Margibi223,412 inhabitants2,616 km²
Maryland186,001 inhabitants2,297 km²
Montserrado1,716,637 inhabitants1,909 km²
Nimba654,715 inhabitants11,551 km²
River Cess84,119 inhabitants5,594 km²
River Gee84,767 inhabitants5,113 km²
Sinoe129,958 inhabitants10,137 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also