Official nameRepublic of Estonia
Name in local languageEesti Vabariik (et)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 161e)1,319,133 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.27 % / year
Area45,336 km²
Density29.10 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 104e)30.285 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)22,928 $USD (2018)
GDP growth3.90 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)78.60 years (2018)
Birth rate10.47 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate1.60 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)11.80 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)2.30 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesEstonian
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 45e)0.882 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)64.31 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresidente Kersti Kaljulaid
National Day24 February (independence of 1918)
Tourists (ranking)3,245,000 people (2017)
Estonie – petite

Estonia is a northern European country and a member state of the European Union, located on the eastern shore of the Baltic Sea and southern Gulf of Finland. The country is bordered on the north by the Gulf of Finland, on the west by Sweden, on the south by Latvia and on the east by Russia. This country is generally grouped with Latvia and Lithuania in a geopolitical set called Baltic countries.

Parc national de Karula, Estonie
Karula National Park, Estonia. Photo: Amadvr
Tallinn, capitale de l'Estonie
Tallinn, capitale of Estonia. Photo: Terker
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Tallinn582,556 inhabitants
Tartu145,550 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions/Counties (Maakonnad)PopulationArea
Harju582,556 inhabitants4,333 km²
Hiiu9,335 inhabitants989 km²
Järva30,379 inhabitants2,623 km²
Jõgeva30,840 inhabitants2,604 km²
Ouest (Lääne)24,301 inhabitants2,383 km²
Pärnu82,535 inhabitants4,807 km²
Põlva27,963 inhabitants2,165 km²
Rapla34,085 inhabitants2,980 km²
Saare33,307 inhabitants2,673 km²
Tartu145,550 inhabitants2,993 km²
Valga30,084 inhabitants2,044 km²
Viljandi47,288 inhabitants3,422 km²
Viru occidental (Lääne-Viru)58,855 inhabitants3,627 km²
Viru oriental (Ida-Viru)143,880 inhabitants3,364 km²
Võru33,505 inhabitants2,305 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also